Montaigne Middle School

Lormont (33)

Design and execution for reconstructing a 600-student middle school in the Génicart district in Lormont.

PROJECT OWNERGENERAL COUNCIL OF GIRONDE
GROUPSPIE BATIGNOLLES, Mandatory
ART’UR Architectes
CENERGIA / GENICLIM
BET 3 BATUT
SECOTRAP
ICADE
NET FLOOR AREA5567 m²
MISSIONComplete
COST OF WORKS10 860 000 euros (pre-tax value)
DELIVERYApril 2013
APPROACHSustainable development / Low-energy building (47kwh/an)
Wooden modules prefabrication
Mixed materials

The major challenge of this project is to properly organize the built elements of the school in order to structure and extend the perception of the adjacent park of Château Génicart.

Each building is positioned so as to frame and qualify the concomitant outdoor space. Entrance scenography, circulation lanes, and rest areas, open or covered, the playground, gardens and sports facilities are considered as sites of the park. They are structured by buildings that give them their meaning, like streets or squares, in the urban representation.

The enclosure, an unifying strip

The treatment of the boundary, the control of its porosity, influences the connection between the public space and the private space. It answers the question of “enclosing”, while proposing signs of openness and transparency. The parcel fencing is displayed as a ribbon, more or less opaque, a casing, a filter, which accompanies intuitive wandering towards access points and forecourt.

Design of the buildings

The building seems to be anchored in the ground. It originates from various excavating and backfills, leaning on the concrete supporting walls which hold the soils and earthworks. The treatment of buildings is very mineral at ground level, asserts a strong connection to the soil. It becomes lighter, more aerial on the emerging parts: a pole and beam system in concrete supports a seating table, a plateau, on which the wood structures settle down.

Collège Montaigne

Lormont (33)

Conception-Réalisation pour la Reconstruction d’un collège de 600 élèves dans le quartier Génicart à Lormont

MAITRE D’OUVRAGECONSEIL GENERAL DE GIRONDE
GROUPEMENTSPIE BATIGNOLLES Mandataire
ART’UR Architectes
CENERGIA / GENICLIM
BET 3 BATUT
SECOTRAP
ICADE
SURFACE SHON5567 m²
MISSIONComplète
COÛT DES TRAVAUX10 860 000 euros H.T.
LIVRAISONAvril 2013
DÉMARCHEDéveloppement durable/ bâtiment bbc (47kwh/an)
Préfabrication modules bois
Mixité des matériaux
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

L’enjeu majeur de ce projet tient à bien organiser les éléments bâtis du collège pour structurer et prolonger la perception du parc du Chateau Génicart attenant.

Chacun des bâtiments est positionné de façon à cadrer et qualifier l’espace extérieur concomitant. La scénographie d’entrée, les circulations, les lieux de pause, ouverts ou couverts, la cour de récréation, les jardins, le plateau sportif, sont considérés comme des lieux du parc. Ils sont structurés par les bâtiments qui leur donnent leur signification, à l’instar de la rue ou de la place, dans la représentation urbaine.

L’enclos, un ruban unificateur

Le traitement de la limite, la maitrise de sa porosité, influe la relation entre l’espace public et l’espace privé. Il répond à la question de « l’enclore », tout en proposant des signes d’ouverture et de transparence. La clôture d’enveloppe de la parcelle est présentée comme un ruban, plus ou moins opaque, une enveloppe, un filtre, qui accompagne les déambulations intuitives vers les points d’accès, vers les parvis.

Conception des bâtiments

L’édifice semble ancré dans le sol. Il prend naissance au gré des divers déblais remblais, s’appuyant sur les murs de soutènements en béton armé qui retiennent les terres et terrassements. Le traitement des bâtiments est très minéral au niveau du sol, affirme une relation forte à la terre. Il devient plus léger, plus aérien sur les parties émergentes : un système poteau-poutres en béton supporte une table d’assise, un plateau, sur lequel viennent se poser les volumes de bois.